Kinetic Machine: Binary Levers

  • English
  • German

Felix Scharstein

KINETIC SCULPTURES AND MACHINES

KINETIC SCULPTURES AND MACHINES

19th-century mills filled with rattling looms, mechanical railway signals, giant steam engines in motion – artist Felix Scharstein finds inspiration for his creations in industrial artifacts of bygone times.

His Freie Kunstmaschinen are machines freed from the shackles of purpose. Intricate mechanical workings become tools of artistic expression. Felix Scharstein combines shapes and symmetries found in nature with engineering techniques; he employs mathematical patterns to arrange sequences of seemingly meaningless processes. Whether semaphore signals, fractal mechanisms, or binary counters, his creations integrate shape, color, and motion into fascinating kinetic sculptures that defy categorization.

Kinetic Machine: Binary Levers

  • English
  • German

Felix Scharstein

KINETIC SCULPTURES AND MACHINES

19th-century mills filled with rattling looms, mechanical railway signals, giant steam engines in motion – artist Felix Scharstein finds inspiration for his creations in industrial artifacts of bygone times.

His Freie Kunstmaschinen are machines freed from the shackles of purpose. Intricate mechanical workings become tools of artistic expression. Felix Scharstein combines shapes and symmetries found in nature with engineering techniques; he employs mathematical patterns to arrange sequences of seemingly meaningless processes. Whether semaphore signals, fractal mechanisms, or binary counters, his creations integrate shape, color, and motion into fascinating kinetic sculptures that defy categorization.

Kinetic Sculptures and Machines

Self-similar Machines, poster for 2016 Exhibition

Self-similar sculptures, mechanical signals, and binary counters play a central role in Felix Scharstein's work. Some of his machines blend several motifs from this list; other pieces explore new thematic directions.

Kinetic Machine: Binary Levers

Fractal Machines

The leaf of a fern, the Nautilus shell, Broccoli Romanesco: Nature offers many examples of shapes composed of smaller copies of itself. The intriguing properties of self-similar shapes have inspired mathematicians working in the field of fractal geometry and artists like M.C. Escher.

The leaf of a fern, the Nautilus shell, Broccoli Romanesco: Nature offers many examples of shapes composed of smaller copies of itself. The intriguing properties of self-similar shapes have inspired mathematicians working in the field of fractal geometry and artists like M.C. Escher.

Self-similar structures are notably rare in engineering, and, to date, absent in the realm of mechanical machines. Felix Scharstein aims to fill this void by emulating the delicate beauty of nature's fractal shapes with playful machines exhibiting enigmatic and poetic qualities. His sculptures connect the imagery of nature and engineering applications, resolving the ostensible conflict between these two worlds.

vendemiaire

Signals

Signals, more broadly, are communication devices; optical telegraphs were predecessors of modern telephones. This makes a mechanical signal an anachronistic statement in the age of social media.

Felix Scharstein enjoys deploying signals – as technical devices – in scenic environments, resolving the perceived tension between nature and technology with a cohesive expression of unexpected beauty.

The function of a mechanical signal is to communicate a message by physically changing shape; semaphore signals are still used in the German railway system. In his work, Felix Scharstein pays homage to the signal as a self-contained kinetic piece of art.

signal
Kinetic Machine: Binary Levers

Binary Counters

Binary Lever, sketch

The binary system, the basis of all modern computers, uses only the digits 0 and 1. We cannot count higher than 1; after getting to 1 we start over at 0 and transfer a carry into the next significant place.

The task of building a mechanical realization of a binary counter is as formidable as it is frivolous. This challenge inspired Felix Scharstein to create several variations of binary counting machines, including self-similar devices whose components scale according to fractional powers of two.

His original design for a 4-digit mechanical binary counter was commissioned by the German Museum of Technology (Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin). As far as is known, it is the only mechanical binary counter able to count both forwards and backwards.

His subsequent designs of self-similar binary counters employ two different mechanisms: Maltese-cross gears, and a set of interlocking levers. The latter device operates solely with gravity. Larger versions of these devices could be commissioned for suitable locations.

Mechanical Binary Counter with 4 digits (CAD Simulation)

Other Machines, Objects, and Experiments

Kinetic Machine Spinning Jenny

Machines devoid of purpose – an artistic assignment without limits! After years of contract work for science centers and museums of technology, Felix Scharstein revels in the opportunity to build whimsical devices whose mechanisms and motions are their sole function, without expectations of productivity or pedagogical purpose.

In addition to Felix Scharstein's completed pieces, he has numerous ideas, concepts, and designs in various stages of development. Sometimes early experiments or prototypes take on a life of their own and provide inspiration for entirely new artifacts. Perhaps these pages might even inspire the reader to dream up a device that does not yet exist – Felix Scharstein is always open for suggestions and commissions!

Kinetic Sculpture based on the painting by Francis Picabia (Machine tournez vite, 1916/1918; ⇒ National Gallery of Art)

Spinning Jenny (2020) is a transmission-belt machine inspired by the spinning machines and mechanical looms of the Industrial Revolution.

Expanded grates or expanded metal are lattices constructed by pulling apart perforated sheets of metal. In the designs shown here, the overall area covered is enlarged by folding down individual rows of the pattern.

These attractive lattices can serve both as decorative elements and for practical applications. Depending on the perforation pattern, the resulting lattices can have various functions, ranging from fencing to a wine shelf.

Museum Exhibits

Felix Scharstein

Over the past 20 years, Felix Scharstein has designed and built a wide range of devices and objects for museums, exhibitions, and fairs in Germany and beyond. Many of these devices illustrate concepts from science and technology, ranging from small gears to awe-inspiring room-filling machines. Like his kinetic sculptures, they exhibit Felix Scharstein's trademark combination of ingenious mechanisms, playful shapes and colors, and unlimited creativity. A small selection of these machines is shown here.

Infinity machine: see the infinity machine in motion ⇒ on Wikipedia (German).

Vita

Kinetic Machine: Binary Levers

Felix Scharstein

Felix Scharstein

"Forget six counties overhung with smoke,
Forget the snorting steam and piston stroke,
Forget the spreading of the hideous town;
Think rather of the pack-horse on the down,
And dream of London, small and white and clean,
The clear Thames bordered by its garden green."

William Morris, 1868

1966

born in Munich

1983-86

education as precision engineer, Cologne

since 1999

construction of exhibits for museums, fairs, film, TV, and theater, Berlin

since 2009

increasing focus on kinetic sculptures with intricate mechanics

2012

initial development of fractal and self-similar devices

2016

Exhibition Art Kreuzberg

2019

Bernried Art Exhibition
Buchheim Museum Bernried

Scroll to Top

rollhalm-weiss

  • Englisch
  • Deutsch

Felix Scharstein

ANSTALT FUER FREIE KUNSTMASCHINEN

ANSTALT FUER FREIE KUNSTMASCHINEN

Maschinenräume voll klappernder mechanischer Webstühle, riesenhafte alte Dampfmaschinen in Bewegung – viele Inspirationen zu seinen Kunstmaschinen findet Felix Scharstein in vergangenen Zeiten.

Seine Freien Kunstmaschinen sieht er als aus dem Zwang sinnvoller Produktivität befreite Maschinen. Die Faszination von mechanischer Funktion steht als künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel im Vordergrund. Felix Scharstein verknüpft Wachstumsgeometrien aus der Natur mit technischen Aufgabenstellungen, mathematische Regelmäßigkeiten organisieren den Ablauf scheinbar sinnloser Funktionen. Egal ob es sich um Signale, fraktale Maschinen oder Binärzähler handelt – aus dem Zusammenspiel von Formen, Farben und Bewegungen entstehen spannende kinetische Objekte, die sich einer klaren Einordnung widersetzen.

rollhalm-weiss-gross

  • Englisch
  • Deutsch

Felix Scharstein

ANSTALT FUER FREIE KUNSTMASCHINEN

Maschinenräume voll klappernder mechanischer Webstühle, riesenhafte alte Dampfmaschinen in Bewegung – viele Inspirationen zu seinen Kunstmaschinen findet Felix Scharstein in vergangenen Zeiten.

Seine Freien Kunstmaschinen sieht er als aus dem Zwang sinnvoller Produktivität befreite Maschinen. Die Faszination von mechanischer Funktion steht als künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel im Vordergrund. Felix Scharstein verknüpft Wachstumsgeometrien aus der Natur mit technischen Aufgabenstellungen, mathematische Regelmäßigkeiten organisieren den Ablauf scheinbar sinnloser Funktionen. Egal ob es sich um Signale, fraktale Maschinen oder Binärzähler handelt – aus dem Zusammenspiel von Formen, Farben und Bewegungen entstehen spannende kinetische Objekte, die sich einer klaren Einordnung widersetzen.

Kunstmaschinen & Objekte

Poster Selbstähnliche Maschinen, Ausstellung 2016

Eine besondere Rolle in dieser Sammlung spielen für Felix Scharstein Signale, fraktale Maschinen und Binärzähler. Teilweise überschneiden sich die Themen, daher ist die Zuordnung nicht immer eindeutig. Andere Maschinen sind aber auch völlig unabhängig davon und schlagen inhaltlich eine ganz andere Richtung ein.

rollhalm-weiss

Fraktale Maschinen

Farnblätter, bestimmte Schneckenhäuser oder die Kohl­sorte Romanesco: In der Natur finden sich immer wieder Formen, die sich in ständiger Verkleinerung (oder Vergrößerung) wiederholen. Diese sogenannte Selbst­ähnlichkeit wird in der Mathematik vom Bereich der fraktalen Geometrie untersucht. Auch zahlreiche Künstler und Graphiker (etwa M. C. Escher) waren und sind von diesem Phänomen fasziniert.

Farnblätter, bestimmte Schneckenhäuser oder die Kohl­sorte Romanesco: In der Natur finden sich immer wieder Formen, die sich in ständiger Verkleinerung (oder Vergrößerung) wiederholen. Diese sogenannte Selbst­ähnlichkeit wird in der Mathematik vom Bereich der fraktalen Geometrie untersucht. Auch zahlreiche Künstler und Graphiker (etwa M. C. Escher) waren und sind von diesem Phänomen fasziniert.

Umso erstaunlicher scheint es, dass es bisher keine Beispiele gibt, bei denen selbstähnliche Formen im Bauplan einer Maschine integriert sind. Der filigranen Schönheit selbstähnlicher Gebilde spürt Felix Scharstein in seinen verspielten, poetisch rätselhaften Maschinen nach. In seinen Objekten verbindet er auf überraschende Weise natürliche Formensprache und technische Anwendung und löst so den Gegensatz zwischen diesen beiden Welten auf.

vendemiaire

Signale

Gleichzeitig sind Signale Kommunikations­maschinen und waren als Zeiger­telegraphen die Vorläufer der heutigen Telefone. Damit sind sie ein anachronistisches Statement in der Zeit von Social Media.

Dabei reizt es Felix Scharstein, solche eigentlich technischen Objekte in einer reizvollen oder ungewöhnlichen Umgebung aufzustellen. Natur und Technik werden hier nicht als gegensätzlich wahrgenommen, sondern verschmelzen zu einer ansprechenden Einheit.

Ein Signal ist eine Maschine, deren Funktion darin besteht, ihre Gestalt zu verändern. Eigentlich nur bekannt aus dem Umfeld von Eisenbahnen, würdigt Felix Scharstein das Signal als eigenständiges kinetisches Kunstobjekt

signal
binaerhebel-weiss

Binärzähler

Skizze Binärhebel

Das binäre System arbeitet nur mit den Ziffern 0 und 1, es ist die Grundlage unserer derzeitigen Computer. Die 1 ist die höchste Zahl, zu der gezählt werden kann, danach folgt der Übertrag auf die nächste Stelle und es fängt wieder bei 0 an.

Die Binärzählerei hat sich als reizvolle Aufgabenstellung beim Bau „sinnloser“, freier Maschinen erwiesen. Auch eignet sich gerade die Skalierung der Zweierpotenzen für den Einsatz in einer selbstähnlichen Maschine.

Der mechanische Binärzähler (mechanical binary counter) wurde von Felix Scharstein als Auftrag für das Deutsche Technikmuseum Berlin konstruiert. Soweit bekannt, ist es der einzige wirklich vorwärts und rückwärts zählende mechanische Binärzähler.

Daraus entwickelte Felix Scharstein dann die selbstähnlichen Binärzähler. Für geeignete Standorte könnten diese auch in größeren Ausführungen gebaut werden.

Mechanischer Binärzähler, 4-stellig (CAD-Simulation)

Weitere Maschinen, Objekte & Experimente

Kunstmaschine Spinning Jenny

Natürlich gibt es auch Maschinen und Objekte völlig unabhängig von den oben genannten Themenbereichen. Nach der langjährigen Beschäftigung mit Exponaten in Technikmuseen und Science-Centern wird hier dem Wunsch nachgegeben, Maschinen einfach nur um ihrer selbst willen zu bauen, aus Spaß an Funktion und Bewegung, ohne jeden didaktischen Anspruch.

Neben den fertig ausgeführten Maschinen gibt es natürlich auch Ideen, Konzepte und Entwürfe, die sich noch im Versuchsstadium befinden. Oft haben diese Ideen auch ein Eigenleben und aus einem Vorversuch ergibt sich eine Inspiration zu einer völlig neuen Maschine. Vielleicht inspirieren diese Seiten aber auch den einen oder anderen Betrachter zu einer Idee für ein bestimmtes Wunschobjekt. Aufträge werden gerne angenommen!

Kinetische Skulptur nach dem Gemälde von Francis Picabia (Machine tournez vite, 1916/1918; ⇒ zu sehen in der National Gallery of Art)

Die Spinning Jenny (2020) ist eine Trans­missions­riemen-Maschine. Der Bau wurde inspiriert durch Spinnerei- und Nähmaschinen sowie mechanische Webstühle.

Streckgitter oder Streckmetall sind Gitter, die aus eingeschnittenen Blechen durch Auseinander­ziehen hergestellt werden. Bei den hier gezeigten Entwürfen entsteht die Flächenvergrößerung durch das Umklappen der einzelnen Reihen.

Diese Gitter sind nicht nur sehr dekorative Elemente, sondern können auch praktisch eingesetzt werden. Je nach Schnittmuster entstehen ganz unterschiedliche Gitter für verschiedene Anwendungen, z. B. als Zaun oder Weinregal.

Kunst­maschinen im Museum

balg-dampfmaschine

Felix Scharstein hat in den vergangenen 20 Jahren die unterschiedlichsten Objekte und Exponate für Museen und Ausstellungen gebaut. Viele dieser Exponate stehen in keiner Weise hinter den freien Maschinen zurück. Außerdem haben sie alle den Vorteil, dass sie bereits in Museen ausgestellt werden. Hier ist eine kleine Auswahl davon zu sehen.

Unendlichkeitsgetriebe: Die Bewegung der Unendlichkeits­maschine ist ⇒ als Video auf Wikipedia zu sehen.

Vita

vendemiaire-weiss

Felix Scharstein

Felix Scharstein

"Forget six counties overhung with smoke,
Forget the snorting steam and piston stroke,
Forget the spreading of the hideous town;
Think rather of the pack-horse on the down,
And dream of London, small and white and clean,
The clear Thames bordered by its garden green."

William Morris, 1868

1966

geboren in München

1983-86

Ausbildung zum Feinmechaniker in Köln

seit 1999

Herstellung von Exponaten für Museen, Ausstellungen, Film, Fernsehen und Theater in Berlin

seit 2009

zunehmend eigene Arbeiten
mit kreativer Mechanik

2012

Beginn der Entwicklung von selbstähnlichen Maschinen

2016

Ausstellung Art Kreuzberg

2019

Bernrieder Kunstausstellung
Buchheim Museum Bernried

Scroll to Top